Find a book

About the Book

A exhibition catalogue published to commemorate the story of an extraordinary discovery made in Paris in 1977 during restoration work on the Hôtel Moreau in rue de la Chausée-d'Antin where many large stone heads were found and identified as belonging to kings and saints originally part of the medieval facade of of the Notre-Dame Cathedral having been pulled down and defaced during the French revolution in 1793, yet concealed and preserved by Jean-Baptiste Lakanal, the owner of the land upon which the hotel stands.  The heads were exhibited in New York and Cleveland and are now on permanent display in the Musée de Cluny.  Illustrated.  Includes a bibliography.  Large paperback.  32 pages.  Good clean condition.  Cat No 4230

£ 18.50

Carmen Gómez-Moreno

Metropolitan Museum of Art New York

Good

Paperback

0870992112

1979

Region: France

Buy on Amazon Now